WHAT THE BLUES?! advent workshop

Do you want to learn how to move and groove to one of the earliest styles of blues music which originated in the Deep South of the United States around the 1860s by African-Americans?

Then this is the workshop for you! Over the course of the day, we’ll explore Country Blues from the Mississippi Delta with its rich rhythmic texture and gripping emotionality. Expect a quick overview of background history, technique for both dancing on your own and communicating with a partner, some creative interludes, and lots of grounded, relaxed grooving.

Learn how to emulate the differences in the music from tempo to texture with ease and thus bridge the gap between bandstand and dance floor.

There’ll be something to tackle for both seasoned blues enthusiasts and the eager newer dancer.

Friday 12/2/2022 & Saturday 12/3/2022
Sachsenhauss & boccanegra

Signup here

Schedule

Friday 12/2/2022

18:30 to 21:00, Sachsenhaus (Schloßbergstr. 33, 72070 Tübingen): If you have never danced blues or only took a few classes or tasters here and there make sure to join our Friday Beginners-Intensive. Carmen & Flo will teach you the basics to follow along on Saturday there. Pay as much as you can.

21:00, Sachsenhaus: Blues dance social with DJed music. Price: To be announce (but really cheap or donation-based).

Saturday 12/3/2022

13:15 to 18:15, boccanegra (Provenceweg 22, 72072 Tübingen): Beginner-Intermediate workshop taught by Annette. Please join this class only if you have taken our Beginner-Intensive on Friday or know basic Blues steps & rhythms as well as are familiar with the different dance positions of partnered Blues dancing. Price: 45/50/55 €.

Around 19:00, boccanegra: Shared dinner between workshop and party. Self service vegeterian buffet. Price: 12,50 €.

20:30, boccanegra: Party with live music by Christoph „Bebof“ Böhm. Price: 15 €.

Our teacher: Annette Kühnle

Annette hails from Heidelberg, Germany and is one of Europe’s most prominent proselytisers of blues dance as a teacher, social dancer, DJ and organiser. Her love of teaching and dancing are infectious and if you’ve travelled for blues, you probably already knew that!

Find her website at: annettedances.com.

Our musician: Christoph „Bebof“ Böhm

About his gig and himself:

These last few years my love for the solo guitar was reignited. The sound of an acoustic guitar has always fascinated me. This made me learn the challenging technique of “fingerpicking”, as it is played by such excelent musicains as Merle Travis, Chet Atkins or Eddie Lang.

My Blues accoustic program includes handpicked and rare pieces of the great musicians of Mississippi Delta Blues and Chicago Blues as well as classics from the history of Blues and Ragtime from the likes of Blind Blake or Jelly Roll Morton. There’s excursions into traditional Jazz and Big Band Jazz. All pieces are arranged or composed by myself.

„Shake That Thing and don’t forget to Boogie!“

WHAT THE BLUES?! Adventsworkshop

Du möchstest lernen wie man sich zu einer der ersten Stilrichtungen des Blues, die im Tiefen Süden der Vereinigten Staaten in 1860ern von Afro-Amerikaner begründet würde, bewegt?

Dann ist das der richtige Workshop für dich! Über den lauf des Tages beschäftigen wir uns mit dem Country Blues des Mississippi Deltas mit seiner tiefgründigen rhythmischen Struktur und seiner ergreifenden Emotionalität. Du kannst einen kurzen Überblick über dem historischen Hintergrund, Techniken um allein zu tanzen und mit deinem Tanzpartner zu kommunizieren, ein paar kreative Ausflüge und ganz viel geerdetes, entspanntes grooven erwarten.

Lerne wie du die Unterschiede der Musik in Tempo und Struktur einfach interpretieren und so die Lücke zwischen Bühne und Tanzfläche füllen kannst.

Der Tag ist sowohl für erfahrene Blues-Enthusiasten als auch für motivierte Anfänger interessant gestaltet.

Freitag 2.12.2022 & Samstag 3.12.2022
Sachsenhaus & boccanegra

Wir haben in allen Kursen und auf allen Parties noch Platz. Kommt einfach spontan vorbei!

Programm

Freitag 2.12.2022

18:30 bis 21:00 Uhr, Sachsenhaus (Schloßbergstr. 33, 72070 Tübingen): Wenn du noch nie Blues getanz hast oder nur an ein paar wenigen Schnupperstunden oder Unterrichtseinheiten teil genommen hast, bist du bei unserem Friday Beginners-Intensive richtig. Carmen & Flo bringen dir die Grundlagen bei, dass du direkt am Samstag beim Workshop durchstarten kannst. Pay as much as you can.

21:00 Uhr, Sachsenhaus: Blues dance social mit Musik vom DJ. Preis: Wird noch bekannt gegeben (aber auf jeden Fall sehr günstig oder auf Spendenbasis).

Samstag 3.12.2022

13:15 bis 18:15 Uhr, boccanegra (Provenceweg 22, 72072 Tübingen): Beginner-Intermediate Workshop mit Annette. Bitte nimm an diesem Kurs nur Teil, wenn du auch zu unsere Beginner-Intensive am Freitag kommst oder wenn du bereits du grundlegenden Schritte & Rhythmen des Bluestanzens kennst und dich mit allen üblichen Tanzposition wohl fühlst. Preis: 45/50/55 €.

Etwa 19:00, boccanegra: Gemeinsames Abendessen zwischen Workshop und Party. Vegetarisches Selbstbedienungsbuffet. Preis: 12,50 €.

20:30, boccanegra: Party mit Livemusik von Christoph „Bebof“ Böhm. Preis: 15 €.

Unsere Lehrerin: Annette Kühnle

Annette kommt aus Heidelberg und ist eine der begeistertsten Enthusiastinnen des Bluestanzes in Europa. Sie ist als Lehrerin, Tänzerin, DJ und Organisatorin aktiv. Ihre Liebe zum Unterrichten und Tanzen sind ansteckend und falls du jemals zum Bluestanzen umhergereist bist, weißt du genau das wahrscheinlich bereits!

Ihre Webseite findest du: annettedances.com.

Unser Musiker: Christoph „Bebof“ Böhm

Über sich und sein Programm:

In den letzten Jahren flammte meine Liebe zur Solo Gitarre wieder auf. Der Klang einer Akustik Gitarre hat mich von je her fasziniert. Ich habe mich in die anspruchsvolle Technik des „Fingerpickin Stils“, wie sie von so grossartigen Künstlern wie Merle Travis, Chet Atkins oder Eddie Lang praktiziert wird, eingearbeitet.

In meinem Blues Akustik Gitarren Programm finden sich neben handverlesenen seltenen Stücken von den Meistern des Mississippi Delta Blues und des Chicago Blues, auch Klassiker der Blueshistorie sowie Ragtime Stücke wie man sie von z.B. Blind Blake oder Jelly Roll Morton kennt. Gelegentlich darf auch der Bogen vom traditionellen Jazz zum Big Band Jazz gespannt werden. Alles von mir selbst arrangiert oder komponiert.

„Shake That Thing and don’t forget to Boogie!“